Travel in Siberia


Lake Teletskoye is the largest one in Altai and one of the biggest in Russia. The maximal depth of the lake is about 330m. The name of the lake goes from the name of the teleut tribe, Teletskoe lake often is called a smaller brother of Baikal. As Baikal Lake Teletskoye is elongated between the mountains, many rivers and streams flow into this lake, but only one river flows out, it is the river Biya.

Located on the hill, high above the city, Kuznetsk Fortress is one of the most magnificent monuments of history and fortification of 18-19 centuries; it represents an outstanding example of Siberian military-engineering art. Kuznetsk Fortress dates back to the time of fortification development at the southern Siberia and is the only object of its kind over the Urals.

Spaso-Preobrazhensky cathedral is the oldest Orthodox cathedral of Novokuznetsk. It was built in the 18th century. The view on the cathedral opened when people approached the city. For a long time cathedral with its 40 meters high bell tower was the highest building of Kuznetsk district and one of the highest in Siberia. In 1935 the cathedral was ruined and closed, the reconstruction began in 1988.

On the right bank of the river Chulyshman there is the Akkurum tract. Usually “kurums” mean accumulation of huge stone blocks and debris of solid rocks. The special thing about kurums is that they slowly climb down the mountainside. Here in the Karasu canyon the wonderful forms of landscape are located which got the queer name – Stone Mushrooms.

Ethnographic museum in the open air “Tazgol” is located on the territory of the Shorian National Park in the wide valley of the river Anzas in the village Ust-Anzas. The village is located near the sacred shorian mountain Aigan. “Tazgol” translated from Shorian means “even meadow”. The museum exposition tells about the cultural traditions of Shorians. This is the first experience of creating an ethnographical museum in the open air in the natural surroundings in Kuzbass.

The museum-preserve “Krasnaya Gorka” was found in 1991 in Kemerovo on the territory of former coal-mine. The area of Krasnaya Gorka represents the museum in the open air: here, on the steep bank of Tom there is unique complex of mining and historical-cultural heritage monuments, which are taken in their natural landscape. The monuments make up the whole complex united under the subject of coal-mining industry developing in Kuzbass. Each of this development’s phases remains its mark in history as immovable monuments. The most ancient one is Gorelaya Gora – the place where the Kuznetsk Basin was found in 1721. The most ancient buildings such as the buildings of AIK KOPIKUZ, which action took place in 1912-19 still remains here. There are dwelling houses and civil buildings of unique international industrial organization Autonomous Industrial Colony KUZBASS (AIK KUZBASS), which action took place on the territory of Kuzbass in 1922-27. This time people of more than 30 nationalities from different countries were working there together. New monuments appeared in the 21th century. In 2003 the monument “In memory of Kuzbass’ miners” by the sculptor Ernst Neizvestny appeared. In 2007 during the celebration of the Kemerovo mine’s centenary a new sculptural composition appeared. It was situated behind the museum and called “The Saint Great Martyr Varvara – the protector of miners”.

Waterfall Saga is a unique monument of nature of Mountain Shoria which is located in a small canyon on a distance 200m from the left bank of river Mras-Su. From the height 15m the stream Sholbychak is falling, the water is breaking the stones and then is getting quiet while making an icy cold little lake with a small grotto. In a canyon there is a lot of rare medicinal herbage. Upper on the stream on the hill-side a shorian house stands alone.

Tomskaya Pisanitsa is the first Siberian monument of Rock Art which became the museum. It is a unique monument of history and culture of Eurasia. Nearly 300 drawings are well-known from the Tomskaya Pisanitsa.


Memorial museum of military and labor glory of Kuznetsk metallurgists was officially opened on the 9th of May 1985 in memory oа the heroic contribution of the Kuznetsk Metallurgical Combine in the defeat of the German fascist troops. On the façade under high reliefs sculpted to reflect the key moments of the war the names of metallurgists killed at the war are immortalized on cast-iron slabs.

Scientific and Technological Museum of Academician I.P. Bardin is one of the most interesting museums of Russian industrial era. Opened in 1932, in the midst of construction of the Kuznetsk Metallurgical Combine, its chief engineer, Ivan Pavlovich Bardin proposed the idea of creating of the museum. The museum became the first industrial museum created in an industrial plant of the country.

You can visit this sight on tour:

Tour «Winter Fishing In Siberia»

Official date of museum's opening is considered to be the 17th of May, 1980. The 1st step to immortalize Dostoevsky's memory in Novokuznetsk was the rename of Politzejskaya Street to Dostoevsky Street. Exactly there the house where Dostoevsky stayed during 1856-1857 is located.

In the 17th and 18th centuries the principal Russian interest in Siberia was the highly profitable fur trade. Great quantities of Siberian furs were exported, first to Europe and later to China. During this period the Russian population of Siberia remained small, limited by difficult communications, harsh climatic conditions, and restrictions on migration from European Russia. Large-scale migration began only in the mid-19th century; it grew spectacularly in the last few decades of czarist rule. This influx was encouraged by overpopulation in some areas of European Russia, the abolition of serfdom in 1861, and the building of the Trans-Siberian Railway from 1891 to 1900, which greatly facilitated transportation and communications.

Olkhon, the most significant island of Lake Baikal is situated on the north-western coast of the lake separating from it by Olkhon Gate Strait and Maloye More. Olkhon Island (72 kilometers in length and 15 to 25 Km in width) is the largest island on Lake Baikal. Geologically the island is very old and Lake Baikal's deepest point (1,637 m) is located near the island. The climate here is different being dry in summer with not too much snow in winter. The average temperature in Summer is +20- to 23C, and about –20C in winter. The channel between the island and the mainland is one of the few places around Lake Baikal where the water is warm enough for swimming!

Looking east of the Urals in the physiographic map of Russia, there's a green field on the left, the West Siberian Plain, and a brown field on the right, the Mid-Siberian Upland, separated by a sharp boundary in the very center of the vast territory. The boundary is delineated by the Yenisei, the great Siberian river, ranked among world largest rivers. It runs a long way of about 2500 miles from mountains in Mongolia to the Arctic ocean. The river crosses the Trans-Siberian Railway in Krasnoyarsk, an important Siberian city with a million-scale population. The city has various sights worth seeing but the Stolby National Wildlife Nature Reserve, its glory, is a matchless attraction.

Khamar - Daban (from the Buryat word “a ridge – nose”, “nut pass”) is a name of highlands near Baikal which is divided into small and big Khamar-Daban. It represents a mountain chain ranging from 40 up to 90 kms wide on the place of small and big Khamar-Daban, divided by the valley of the Temnik-river,and the length of this highland is 500 kms. The tops of the range (goltsy or hills) are deprived of vegetation, they have round shapes without distinct crest and reach the height of 2000-2300 m above sea level. The maximum height of the range is 2371 m (mountain Khan – Ula). The chain stretches along the south-eastern shore of Baikal from the Selenginsky lowlands to the range of Munku-Sardyk. Mountains are steep from the Baikal side and serve as a natural barrier for air streams, transferred across Baikal. Precipitations here are more abundant than in adjacent areas, the damp climate promotes plentiful growth of various vegetation, that is why this ridge is sometimes called “the Siberian jungles”.

Tunkin National Park is one of the most picturesque places on nature and one of the biggest national parks of Russia.

Tunkin valley lies between the mountain chains of Sayans and ancient mountains of Khamar-Daban. They extend on 200 km, gradually rising from 550 to 1200 m above the sea level with width from 20 to 30 km. Tunkn valley is inhabited for a long time, beautiful nature and relatively warm climate, fertile soils, fine pastures for cattles.

You can visit this sight on tour:

Excursion-ethnographical tour - "The Gaeser Land"

The Shorian National Park was organized in 1990 and is located n the south of Kemerovo Region on the territory of Tashtagol district. The territory extension from the North to the South is 110 km, from the East to West – 90 km. Administration of Shorian National Park is located in Tashtagol. Square of the park makes up 413843 ha. The park consists of 5 forestries.

Yenisei (Russian: Енисе́й), also written as Yenisey, is the largest river system flowing to the Arctic Ocean. It is the central of the three great Siberian rivers that flow into the Arctic Ocean (the other two being the Ob River and the Lena River). Rising in Mongolia, it follows a northerly course to the Yenisei Gulf in the Kara Sea, draining a large part of central Siberia, the longest stream following the Yenisei-Angara-Selenga-Ider river system.

The mountain range Ergaki is located in the central part of the Western Sayans (south of Krasnoyarsk Territory). The name Ergaki in Tuvinian means “fingers” as the form of the mountains remains them.
The extension of mountain range from west to east is about 80 km, width is about 60 km. The range Ergaki is strongly indented; there are a lot of steep mountainsides, deep river valleys and lakes. The area is mountain-taiga, in the mountains there are a lot of rivers. Relief is middle-mountain, the altitudes 1300-2100 prevail. The highest note is a top “Zvezdny” (Star), 2265 m. The mountains are of very hard rock, so the stone-falling happen rarely. 

You can visit this sight on tour:

Active-excursion tour "Sayan Expanses"

Green Mountain is famous by right for the best trails in Western Siberia. Compliance with international standard FIS allows holding here competitions of the highest level. Sheregesh receives stages of the Russian Championship on a regular basis. The unique climate offers unprecedented long ski season - from November to May. The abundance of snow provides possibility of skiing in magnificent virgin forest by the famous "puhlyak." However, not only extremals can enjoy the slopes. The variety of terrain and number of tracks makes Sheregesh attractive to skiers of all levels - from beginners, for which there is a great long and flat "table" at the foot of the mountain, to the experts, amateurs of hills, virgin soil and steep slopes.

Kazanovka" isn’t a simple place. 12 years ago there the museum-reserve "Kazanovka" was found, which became the pride of Askizskij district and the entire region of Khakassia. "Kazanovka" - an example of how to relate to historical and cultural heritage, the brand in demand by scientists and tourists from around the world. Excursions around the museum discover the special world behind the tourists: both simple and very harmonious, understandable and full of mysteries and secrets.

Paraskeva Chapel is the Orthodox chapel, one of the symbols of the city of Krasnoyarsk. Situated on the top of the mountain Karaulnaya (Guard mountain), on the site of an ancient pagan temple Tatar kachintsev. Local tribes called Mount Kum tegey - Black Hill.

Placement of Bowing Crosses at the high places, at the crossroads – is an old Orthodox tradition. Travellers and wayfarers being far from home could pray, to bow to the Cross, ask God for help and defence. The first Bowing Cross was placed in Russia by Saint Princess Olga more than a thousand years ago on the Kiev Mountains. Orthodox Bowing Crosses usually are wooden, rarely – stone tetracrepid or cast. They may be decorated with carving and ornamental pattern. Invariable are their Orthodox maintenance and the orientation to the East.

The mountain-skiing complex of republican value “Yugus”, located on the mountain of the same name, is in 5 km from Mezhdurechensk, one of the most beautiful cities of Kemerovo Region. The city is surrounded by mountains and two crystal clear rivers – Usa and Tom. Just within the precincts of a town of Mezhdurechensk there are two mountains: Yugus and Syrkashi. Mountain-skiing complex is located on the left bank of Tom and on the south-eastern suburbs of the city of Mezhdurechensk. The season of mountain-skiing lasts from the beginning of December to the end of March. 

You can visit this sight on tour:

Tour «Siberian Snowmobile Tour»

The Boulevard of Heroes is one of the sights of Novokuznetsk. It is located at the crossing of streets Tsiolkovskogo street and Oktyabrjsky avenue. Boulevard of Heroes takes rather large territory. Here you can find broad avenue for walking and sit to relax on the benches, which are located along the whole avenue. But the most important detail of the Boulevard of Heroes is the “eternal flame”. Particulary near the eternal flame there the Day of Victory held. On this day the guard of honor is put to eternal flame, the city held marches and rallies, as well as anyone can try Army buckwheat porridge with meat.
At the Boulevard there several guns and memorial wall in memory of descent in the Great Patriotic War.

Historical and Ethnographic State Museum-Reserve "Shushenskoye" is a unique complex in the open air. As the basis for the museum creation in 1970 was the already existing house-museum of Lenin and Lenin's memorable places around Shushenskoye located on the territory of 7 hectares of recreated ancient Siberian village late 19th – early 20th centuries with farmhouses, outbuildings, regional office, a prison, retail establishments. In the museum there traditional crafts, old technologies are being revived and developed. Different workshops are open: art, pottery, wood carving and wood painting, sewing of folk costumes and children's museum center. The favorable climate, presence of historical and cultural monuments, organized tourist and sports infrastructure can combine healthy recreation and cultural pastime in the Siberian land for our guests.


Krasnoyarsk local history museum is one of the most ancient museums of the Territory and Siberia and one of the biggest museums in Russia. Guidance centre for local museums and information and educational centre. Attendance is about 360 thousand people.
The museum was opened in 1889, the founders of museum are local intelligentsia representatives Matveev family.


phone: (3843) 32-09-60; 32-09-50;


About Russia

Read all >>